top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDented

Strike not spare.

Updated: Jun 3, 2022

I give up.

the pieces I've tried to pick,

have broken down further.

Kintsukuroi could never reshape this vase of my heart.


the gut-wrenching glee of reliving it,

the shivers, the goosebumps, the pupils;

all longing for nothing but love.

extorting it in its entirety,

all to feed my hopeless, selfish, and lonely self.


sixty feet away;

my chafed, frailing pins,

longing for me to fail,

little did they know,

it was the end of the game

and I still chose to bowl.


I thought I was healing,

with what I was receiving.

I felt something, I finally felt something.

only to realize,

this time the ball I bowled,

would spin into a strike.


did I lose or win?

no one could dig my tale,

as I decided to never show

the side of me that was real,

ecstatic and a little lame.


my balance shook;

as the heart decided:

'twas time to outweigh the brain.'


the heavier it became,

the more it felt decapitated.

like my brain had a body of its own,

beheaded.


temporarily, it felt lighter,

as the weight transferred,

from either side of a scale.

now, in disguise of this wispy mind,

I seemed to lose it every single time.


so I cheat like a vendor.

adding weight on the other side of the scale.

the balance was restored in no time;

but my heart, imploding with guilt,

loses this beguiling wartime.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The vase

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page